Anxiety · Relationships · therapy

Things were getting back to normal…but now…

Anxiety wanted to let me know yesterday it is very much still with me. I’m back to not being able to eat, I constantly feel like I’m going to throw up, and all week I’ve been waking up in a panic of sorts. Even if it’s not right away and even if it’s getting a little better, it’s still there and it still is bothering me. So I’m doing the one thing that I know….write and challenge these negative thoughts that I’m having. There’s going to be a few of these negative thinking props cause there are a few things giving me anxiety.

Lets start with my nausea and not being able to eat.

  • Am I falling into a thinking trap?

Well, sort of. My stomach is telling me I’m nauseous, but it’s also telling me I’m hungry.

  • What is the evidence that this thought is true? What is the evidence that this thought is not true?

The nausea I’m feeling is telling me I’m going to throw up. The evidence that this is not true is that I’ve eaten and haven’t gotten sick.

  • Have I confused a thought with a fact?

I think so.

  • What would I tell a friend if he/she had the same thought?

I honestly have no idea. I don’t want them to force them to eat, but I want them to know nothing bad is going to happen if you eat.

  • What would a friend say about my thought?

To just eat what you can. Don’t force yourself to eat too much. You’re doing great.

  • Am I 100% that my anxiety will interfere with me eating? (Insert your own issue after that)

I am not. I know if I let it though, it will.

  • How many times has this happened before?

I have never thrown up, but I have had this feeling many times before.

  • Is this so important that my future depends on it?

It’s important that I eat.

  • What’s the worst that could happen?

The worst that could happen is that I get sick. Once that is over, I usually feel better so in the end, I’ll be fine.

  • If it did happen, what could I do to cope with or handle it?

I would be scared to eat anything heavy for awhile and scared to eat anything at work, but eventually I will get there.

  • Is my judgement based on the way I feel instead of facts?

It’s my judgement based on how I feel.

  • Am I confusing possibility with certainty? It may be possible, but is it likely?

Yes and I’m not sure.

  • Is it a hassle or a horror?

I think it’s a horror, but deep down I know it’s just a hassle.

 

Now to Jon’s sister.

  • Am I falling into a thinking trap?

I might be. She’s respectful towards me when I’m in the room, but I know she doesn’t like having to “share’ her brother.

  • What is the evidence that this thought is true? What is the evidence that this thought is not true?

The things that she has told Jon make this thought true. They way she acts when I’m around makes them not true.

  • Have I confused a thought with a fact?

I hope so.

  • What would I tell a friend if he/she had the same thought?

That things will be okay. It’s not always going to be like this and that both of you will get used to it.

  • What would a friend say about my thought?

They would most likely say the things above. At least I would hope that they would.

  • Am I 100% that she doesn’t like me? (Insert your own issue after that)

I am not.

  • How many times has this happened before?

The anxiety has happened three times already, but when I was on the medicine and Jon and I weren’t dating things were fine.

  • Is this so important that my future depends on it?

I know Jon is still going to love me and be with me either way, but it’s going to be hard.

  • What’s the worst that could happen?

That she hates me.

  • If it did happen, what could I do to cope with or handle it?

It would be hard to handle it, but hopefully things would get better over time.

  • Is my judgement based on the way I feel instead of facts?

Both

  • Am I confusing possibility with certainty? It may be possible, but is it likely?

Yes and I hope not.

  • Is it a hassle or a horror?

I think it’s a horror, but deep down I know it’s just a hassle cause things will be fine in the end.

Leave a Reply

