Anxiety · Tampering Off of Medicine · Uncategorized

Update

So, I’m still off my medicine. Yay! Anxiety still hits me from time tom time, but it’s not bad. I’ve done well so far, but it does suck having to worry about my anxiety. For Valentine’s Day Weekend, Jon and I went away….and so did my anxiety for an hour or so when we got to the hotel room. It stayed away though the rest of the weekend, which was nice. More progress is that I stayed inside for two days in a row and guess what, I wasn’t nervous about going out. Maybe next month I’ll try three days and see how that goes. My anxiety is going to be with me this week though, especially Saturday. I already feel it.

I have a big weekend and I’m sharing a room with a co-worker (that I don’t know yet). I’m a little scared that I’m going to have a panic attack in the hotel room with someone that doesn’t know me. I know it’s going to be a great time, we already have stuff in common even though I don’t know this girl, and I know everyone I tell about my anxiety that they understand or they know how I feel. There’s that unknown though that scares the shit out of me. I’m bringing my tea and anything else that gives me that extra comfort.

I went to see my therapist and she said that I was doing well and that she was proud of me for doing what I’m doing. She told me that I don’t have to come back, but if I feel like I need to she’s there. It’s nice to know that.

I know this is a short post, but thankfully things have been going pretty well and I’m hoping they stay that way.

One thought on “Update

  1. Hi there,

    I guarantee you that each and every human being experiences anxiety at least once in their life time; you are not alone. Everyone deals with certain situations in their own way. What may make one person happy and excited may make another worried and nervous. Some people feel like they are going to get sick when they experience anxiety, and some feel like they are going to pass out, etc. Panic attacks are no fun; take it from me, I experienced severe anxiety for an entire summer and a little past then about 6 years ago. Recognizing what it is that makes you anxious is the first step. The next? Letting time do its part. Owning up to certain facts/faults/issues or accepting certain situations and/or experiences is not easy, but it is essential in getting “better.” Once you learn to accept life as it throws itself at you, things become much easier.

    Don’t ever forget to BREATHE! When I become anxious, I immediately recognize my heart racing – I become hot, feel my face flush up like a tomato and boom…I feel like I’m going to hit the ground faster than Janet Jackson’s top at Super Bowl 38. Luckily though, it has pretty much become second nature now to just take a deep, deep breath…or 20.

    Going into situations being worried you will experience an anxiety attack is the absolute worst thing anyone can do. Just take a look at yourself in the mirror, slap yourself if you have to (I have before…not too hard though!) and tell yourself “YOU GOT THIS!!” Going out to the mall, going away with your boyfriend, girlfriend, family, etc.; all of these experiences should be fun lived and anxiety free. Big woop…if you experience an anxiety attack, just push yourself through it! The more you push yourself to do things again, whether it be by yourself or with people is the best thing you can do…seems like you are doing well with that and I wish you all the best moving forward. Just don’t ever forget…you are you and your life is yours and nobody else’s – do not be afraid to be you and move through life at your own pace.

    On to the only (sorta) bad part…anxiety just doesn’t up and leave…it’ll always be there…just like mono and AIDS…woohoo!! But you have it in you to control it…do not let anxiety win! Beat that bitch up just like cramps after a glass of wine. Live your life; have fun, do stupid shit some times – gamble when you’re feeling lucky, shoot a funny face to that kid throwing a temper tantrum to his mommy in the grocery line ahead of you to make them cry even more. At the end of the day, life is kind of a bitch. You’re going to get into fights with people you love, you’re going to dislike people your “supposed” to love (family..hello!!), you’re going to lose people you thought were your best friend(s), and you’re going to get reprimanded at work if you fuck up….that’s life!! Just gotta go with the flow.

    Cheers to you and all you’ve overcome. Good luck in life all of your future endeavors kiddo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

