Anxiety · Tips

Security Items

One of the things that I know everyone has are security items. It makes us feel safe, especially when we’re out. One of the things that gives me anxiety is getting sick when out in public. It happens, but I don’t want it to happen to me. So, when I go out, I do bring a few things with me that I know will help me if that does happen. I also have a few other things that I have around the house that makes me calmer too. This is going to be a short post, but since yesterday was a good day for me, I figured I’d share things that help me and you can share things that help you.

  • Hair Ties/Hair Clip

I make sure I have a hair tie or something of the sort with me in my purse, just in case I do get sick. I do have long hair and I usually wear it down. Vomit in my hair is not something I want.

  • Water

I usually have a water bottle in my purse at all times. Water helps calming me down, sometimes, or if I feel lightheaded.

  • Tylenol

Since I can’t take Advil while on Zoloft (which sucks), I carry around Tylenol. It’s not so much for my anxiety, but for when I have a headache or a pain when I’m out. I do carry it around with me though so I figured I’d add it to the list.

  • Tums

I sometimes carry around Tums, if my stomach is bothering me. I always make sure to pack this though when I’m traveling.

  • A plastic bag

If I’m not feeling well and I know I’m going for a long ride, I do sometimes put a plastic bag in my purse. One of my fears was getting sick on the bus going into New York, so I did have a bag in my purse, just in case when I didn’t feel well.

  • A travel size bottle of stress relief lotion

Lately, this has been in my bag for just in case reasons. That and it is cold so it’s good for the dry skin.

  • My stuffed dog

Now this I don’t use for when I’m out, this is something that I use at night sometimes. When I have problems falling asleep, I grab the dog and snuggle up with it at night.

  • My elephant blanket

Now this really isn’t a security blanket, it’s more of just something that is really soft and keeps me warm, but I do tend to grab it when my anxiety is high.

What are some things that you carry around to keep your mind at ease or things you use to calm yourself when you need it?

Leave a Reply

