Anxiety · Sleep

Last Night was a Bad Night

We all have bad day and bad nights when it comes to anxiety. My anxiety usually rises more at night (especially if it’s about to be that time of the month). I sometimes feel that tingling feeling in my legs, sometimes I hear my heart beat when laying on my side, and sometimes it’s just that my mind won’t shut off. My anxiety also rises when my sleep is effected. If I can’t fall asleep in less than an hour, I start worrying. If you know me, my bed is my favorite place and sleeping is a hobby for me. If my anxiety wants to take that “hobby” away from me, I’m not a happy camper.

Last night was one of those nights where my anxiety was high. I went to bed about 11:30, put the T.V on to something that I watched more than once, and closed my eyes. It was going well….until about a little before 12 when the smoke alarm started beeping. It’s been beeping for the past few nights and I have no idea how to fix it. My dad says that it could be a spider in it, but it’s been going off at the same time for the past three nights! I can’t sleep when that thing starts beeping (I don’t know how my parents can). So I start to get frustrated, I start tossing and turning, I turn the T.V off, then I turn it on again,then back off, the tingling starts in my legs, and my heart rate starts to beat faster. I feel like Phoebe in that Friends episode, the one where she throws the fire alarm down the trash chute because the damn thing won’t stop beeping (I’m only 5 seconds away from doing that myself).

So what do I do when I start to have a bad night? Well first I got up from my bed and went to go look at the fire alarm, seeing if there was an ugly spider there. There wasn’t. I debated on waking up my dad, but unlike me he has to work in the morning and I didn’t want to disturb him. So I sucked it up. I went back into my room, closed the door again, and got my miracle spray. It’s from Bath and Body Works and it’s one of the aromatherapy sprays. It’s for stress and the smell works wonders. I also put a little bit of my sleep lotion (bought that at Bath and Body Works too) on too. Soon enough, I was able to tune out that beeping and was able to fall asleep.

I sometimes drink some sleepy time tea if I can’t fall asleep with my anxiety, but thankfully I didn’t need that last night. Normally, that smoke alarm itself wouldn’t give me anxiety. It would annoy me, of course, but since it was effecting my sleep (and it’s about to be that time of the month) it did trigger my anxiety.

The purpose of this post is to give whoever is reading this some tips on how to deal with anxiety at night and to also see what you do. Listed below are the items that I use.  Leave any products that you use in the comments or comment with any tips you have that work for you.

Bath and Body Works Stress Spray 

Bath and Body Works Sleep Lotion

Bath and Body Works Sleep Pillow Spray 

Sleepy Time Tea 

Tension Tamer Tea

Leave a Reply

